What's new

Bloody First DE Shave

So after lurking, reading, re-reading, watching the videos and buying a DE setup, I had my first shave this morning with a merkur hd.

My prep was probably not enough, my lather too wet (or too dry), the angle was wrong most of the time, and my whole face was one big weeper, but...

There were actually a few slow strokes of the cheek where I heard a different sound, didn't really feel the razor much, and didn't see any blood. And I think I might have glimpsed what all you crazy shavin' folks are talking about. Maybe. I'll definitely give it another go, have to make the investment pay off after all.

Too many people to thank here. Thanks to everyone that took the time to post all the helpful information at this site. Definitely one of the best resources on any topic that I've seen anywhere online. And I look at Web sites for a living. This is quite a community you guys have built here. Great stuff.

:thumbup1: Congratulations, and don't worry, you'll get better at it.

Remember: When you think you're already applying no pressure, try applying even less. Shave S-L-O-W-L-Y. Its an enjoyable experience, so why rush? And, as you discovered, when you can hear the whiskers being cut, but can't feel the blade, you've got it right! :thumbup:

:thumbup1: Congratulations, and don't worry, you'll get better at it.

Remember: When you think you're already applying no pressure, try applying even less. Shave S-L-O-W-L-Y. Its an enjoyable experience, so why rush? And, as you discovered, when you can hear the whiskers being cut, but can't feel the blade, you've got it right! :thumbup:

Congratulations on the first step! Put it this way - all great tasks require at least a minimal shedding of blood!

+1 to what DamnFineBob said: Go slow, no pressure, and enjoy it!

Maybe if you tell us your kit, we can give specific pointers.

Best,

- ice

jdcpar5: