What's new

The interactive Guide to straights #2

Newbie here:

The interactive guide is one well written, brilliantly executed, superbly photographed sliver of non-fiction. Now, I have questions.

1-I went to a barber shop called YOUR FATHERS MOUSTACHE in Milwaukee on a whim. They used a straight edge to clean off the back of my neck. It was great! I almost wished they hadn't, because now I am here bothering you all.

2-Say I get a hold of a "shave ready" blade off the B&B boards. What is the minimal amount of "maintenance gear" I would need? All of the descriptions of flat stones, hones, finishing hones, Strops, Leather sided strops, shark tooth strops, armadillo hide strops had me a bit overwhelmed.

3-Being a newie, I do not believe I should be attempting to hone (as the guide suggests). However, I know a stropping is in order before each shave to maintain the edge. What types or sizes is recommended for a newbie?

4-There seems to be a real chance of my ruining my first blade purchase with inferior stropping technique. Does this mean I should buy a total crap blade to practice on?

5-Please steer me in the right direction. Also, is it true that I will need to send my potential razor out to be rehoned every 2 or 3 months?

6-Please describe again the main difference between honing and stropping (not neccessarily the procedure, but the effect(s) on the blade these actions serve)

7-Whew.

8-Thank You

-Crisp

You need at least a razor, strop and barbers hone. Once the razors is professionally honed you will be set for life. The barbers hone is effective and easy to use but, if you continue to read this forum, you will be infected with HAD and be compelled to buy more hones. If you're not willing to learn to hone with, at least, a barbers hone, you will be very frustrated. New users don't risk ruining the razor, but the edge, which is why you need a hone. A strop makes the blade feel smoother.