What's new

Lansky Sharpeners

I am pretty new to straight shaving and don't have any hones to get into that aspect of things, but I do have a set of Lansky Sharpeners that I use on my pocket knives. The set I have has an extra coarse stone, a coarse stone, a medium stone, a fine stone, and an ultra fine stone. I ran these things over a razor I got at a local antiques store, and finished the razor up on the poor man's strop kit I got from Larry at whippeddog.com, I think the pastes on the balsa strop are .3 microns, and .1 microns. I haven't shaved with the razor yet, but it does easily pass the HHT, but I thought I would get the opinion of some of the guys on here before I actually put this thing on my face. Am I going to wreck my face with this thing or does my setup sound like it could have actually put a shavable edge on the blade?

Edit: here is a link to the kit that I have to give everyone an idea of what this Lansky kit is
http://www.knifecenter.com/kc_new/store_detail.html?s=LSLKCLX

And I did not put the razor in the clamp, I just ran the stone directly across the spine and the edge.

Last edited:

Legion

Staff member
Well you will know pretty quickly once you shave with it. Personally I would be surprised if it worked properly as the stones are too narrow and would probably distort the thin razor edge. But stranger things have happened. Worth a try, I suppose.

The lansky ultra fine is only 1000 grit. I doubt that you have an edge you would want to shave with coming off the small hones that come with the lansky system.

The lansky ultra fine is only 1000 grit. I doubt that you have an edge you would want to shave with coming off the small hones that come with the lansky system.