What's new

Pipe Tobacco

I am a tobacco farmer. I used to smoke cigs for ~10 years, now I smoke a pipe or cigar once every other month or so.(til now)

I grew 6 varieties of tobacco in my garden (besides the main crop) and air cured them in a small shed. I have some decent looking leaves, some still have a bit of yellow in them. Does anyone have any information on the quality of the flavor vs green, yellow, thin, etc. leaves?

I have heard that you can cycle the humidity/temperature to create a sweetness (fermentation). Anyone hear of that?

I also have some tobacco that is dark fired in a smoke barn, but likely not meant for a pipe.

I enjoyed my first bowl of home grown tobacco today, and intend to sample all 6 varieties in the next few weeks.

I found it alarming that most smoke shops carry only drug pipes and $5 pipes made in china. Where does one get a nice new pipe these days?

Thanks,
Frothbeast

You can find a number of online vendors that can sell you pipes and pipe tobaccos. I frequent 4noggins.com for my pipe tobacco needs, as they have competitive prices and excellent service. They also have a number of pipes for sale as well.

I am a tobacco farmer. I used to smoke cigs for ~10 years, now I smoke a pipe or cigar once every other month or so.(til now)

I grew 6 varieties of tobacco in my garden (besides the main crop) and air cured them in a small shed. I have some decent looking leaves, some still have a bit of yellow in them. Does anyone have any information on the quality of the flavor vs green, yellow, thin, etc. leaves?

I have heard that you can cycle the humidity/temperature to create a sweetness (fermentation). Anyone hear of that?

I also have some tobacco that is dark fired in a smoke barn, but likely not meant for a pipe.

I enjoyed my first bowl of home grown tobacco today, and intend to sample all 6 varieties in the next few weeks.