Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Some scotch education if you please

Default Some scotch education if you please

Hello Gents,
    I have been interested in trying a new drink as of late. I am typically like a stiff gin and tonic (Hendricks), a Sauvignon Blanc, or Pino Noir. I have been reading about scotch and picked up a bottle of Glenlivet 12. I poured some over three ice cubes swirled and sipped... and almost gagged.

Can someone wiser than I provide some help? How should I start?
    Best,
    Mike

Mike, I am no where near a scotch expert but that was my first scotch try also. Try it neat (no ice) as I have read the chill messes the flavor up. Also I found it to be a bit harsh, but I left it in the glass for about ten minutes and it was much better.
    ~Anthony~

Images

Mike,

I'm no expert either BUT I have mine with a little room temperature water. This releases the flavours more and avoid the ice chill that, IMHO, detracts from the experience. It also seem to make it a little smoother.

I'm talking a little water, probably 10 - 25% by volume, not diluting the drink!

+1 , i usually add couple of dropps to release all the favours!

Images

i like a good G&T, a Pinot Noir, good quality 'hoppy' beers such as James Squires IPA (don't know any USA equivalents). recently decided to experiment with scotch whisky and it took some time before finding some that hit the spot.

try skipping the ice mike and just add a 'splash' of water.

Go to a bar and order a glenlivet 18 if they have it. Try that first............... although you may end up putting the 12 year on the side after a sip of the more expensive stuff.....