What's new

I'm done with Gillette. Looking into Safety Razors, but I need help

I've been shaving for 6 years now and I bought the Fusion Pro Glide about 3 months ago. It's horrible! All I get is razor burns, razor bumps, burning skin and a rash. My skin is VERY SENSITIVE so this is a problem for me because I HATE having any facial hair. Also, when I don't shave against the grain there's still a huge shadow left by my facial hair which sort of makes me have to shave against the grain. Will Safety Razors fix that?

I want to get rid of this garbage razor and get a safety razors since I've been doing some research and have seen that they're basically amazing and all this new 5 blade crap is a gimmick. Right now I shaved against the grain with my Gillette Fusion Pro Glide and I STILL have hair all over my face, yet I can't shave against the grain or my face will be toast.

So can someone help me out with finding a good safety razor, badger brush and shaving cream? Online or if you know any stores in the Bay Area, CA then that's good too! Preferably cheap, but not too cheap. Thanks a lot if you can help!

Also I think there's a difference between DE Safety Razors and just regular ones? Are there any particular stores that might sell them? Maybe Nordstrom's?

Last edited:
Hey man, I went through the exact same thing until I was 15 up until 3 years ago, when I made the transition to wet shaving and DE shaving.

If you are looking for a good DE razor, check out eBay, as they have pretty good deals on old vintage gillette superspeed razors that work just as well as the new merkur razors that come out new from germany. Both are great choices.