What's new

Coffee Grinder (in Australia)

Hello

I've been using Moccona instant coffee. I'm a full time university student on a budget.

I have a plunger but in the past I found the coffee to be weak when I used it to make coffee. I've been told if I put a bit of effort into it I can make a decent coffee with it and the place to start is with a coffee grinder. What do people recommend?

I've seen these two models on the internet:

Sunbeam-autogrinder

Russell Hobbs Electric Grinder

I have been told to look at a more expensive grinder but it's over $100 Australian and above my budget. It's this one:
Sunbeam 0450

I am supposed to be getting a fair amount of money later this year so should I look at the third option? Although the first 2 would be more affordable.

Thanks.

Last edited:
Get a fair quality mill grinder. They grind the beans much more evenly. Also the blade grinders can be a pain to get the coffee out after grinding. Its fun just experimenting with grind and amount of coffee. The best is coffee in a press. I recommend investing in a stainless steel French Press. They won't break and they keep the coffee hot. Hmmm...I may make one right now for breakfast with some Kenyan beans. Good luck.

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
Upgrading from instant would already help a lot. You could always get a pack of Vittoria coffee. I know, it's 3 times the price but, just 1 to try it. I found it to be nice. There's an Italian grocery in Brunswick (where they also sell Proraso for very very very cheap) that sells excellent coffee.

For the grinder, I would stay away from the one that Coles and Woolies sell...

I just picked up a packet of pre-ground Genovese "Super Brazil" coffee from a coffee shop. They said it is similar to the cup of coffee I had there.