What's new

hollow ground? extra hollow ground?

i know this has been asked before, i just don't know where: i am a total newbie to straight razor shaving. i've been looking for straight razors and don't know whether to buy one that is hollow ground, extra hollow ground, or whatever else there may be. as someone that has never used one before, which would i be least likely to slit my throat with?
in advance, thank you all for your help!

This is just my opinion but I think for a first straight you're better of going for something like a quarter hollow or a half hollow at most. As always, YMMV. The first time I tried straight shaving I started with a full hollow and I really didn't like it so I gave up for a little while. The next time I went to a wedge. What a difference. As a newbie, the wedge felt so much more comfortable in my hand and I felt much more confident. I haven't looked back since. I now actually enjoy shaving with a full hollow. I'm going to be shaving next week with my 7 day set that are 6/8 full hollows. I really like the feedback in feel and sound from the blade but that's because I'm now getting experienced at straight shaving.

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
If not careful, you can injure yourself very badly with a straight razor regardless of the model.

+1 on John comment, quarter/half hollow is very good. A full or extra will also work, that's not a problem. The quarter/half will give you better feedback.

Have a look at this page: http://wiki.badgerandblade.com/index.php/Straight_Razor_FAQs

I think the hollower grinds give much better feedback. They are the finesse razors. The more wedgie razors will plow through your beard. They are the brute strength razors.

In any event, no matter what you wind up with, make sure it is shave ready from a reputable source, and check back often with questions - we're here to help.:thumbup1: