What's new

Music or No Music When Running

Do you listen to music, podcasts or audiobooks when running?

• Yes

• No

• I am a professional opera singer and sing "The Barber of Seville" while I run.

Results are only viewable after voting.
When I first started to run, I carried an iPod and listened to music or audiobooks but as I became more serious about running, I quit carrying the iPod.

I'm just wondering what everyone's personal preference is and why. It may have been psychological, but with a heat index of 105 and humidity at 80% or higher, It felt cooler without the earplugs. Now, I find the iPod to be a distraction.

Last edited:
Audiobooks for me. Music bores me.

In hot weather, you'll need to make sure you have the right kind of earbuds or your ears will fill with water.

I have to listen to music when I work out. The heavier the better. I've been listening to Slipknot in my MP3 player almost exclusively for the last year.

Hmm, I've never when/if I run or walk. I normally don't run since I don't like to overload my legs since I work them with weights, but occationally I will walk a trail. Working out though, most definitely need some blood flowing music.

I voted no, but will, on an occasional long road run, bring the iPod. Most long runs these days are on trails, and there neither books nor music add to the experience.

Yes, yes, a thousand times yes. I listen to pop music with a good beat. The type of music they play at clubs. My best runs come when I've discovered a new song and play it over and over while running.

I can do without it, but I much prefer to run with music. Always have. I tend to run to the beat.

A distraction for me...I do mostly trail running and I like to soak in nature rather than carry everyday distractions with me on the trail.

Voted no.. if I have my fanny pack or hydration pack on I'll put my iPhone in it and listen to a podcast, otherwise nothing.. mainly for safety.

yes and no.