What's new

Help me get started with A/S?

Okay I have never used a real after shave before, and I have just started DE shaving this week. I have used Nivea Cooling After Shave Balm but I think it is irritating my sensitive skin.

So can anyone recommend an A/S, preferably with a "cool" scent (ie: CK Be cologne, Gillette "Cool Wave" deodorant, or the aforementioned Nivea balm)?

If you can't think of anything with that scent but you still think you have a good suggestions for a person with sensitive skin please let me know! I'm open to all ideas....

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
Have you tried Nivea Sensitive balm? It might be a good way to see if it's the AS or not as that one should help. Unless you're allergic to Nivea...

I really like Proraso. Splash in my case but the balm is very nice too.

one of the flavored Thayer's Witch Hazel products might be for you... and if not cool enough scents, just plain ol' WH followed by your favorite scenting product could work.

...welcome to B&B!

Nivea lotion is a byproduct of some New Jersey Cupronol factory (IMHO:w00t:), smells chemically, and irritated my skin as well (thus the vitriol....)

Step #1 for aquiring AS:

Buy some Alt-Insbruck

Step #2:

Enjoy the pain

Step #3

Enjoy the cool!

Great stuff!:thumbup:

Step #1 for aquiring AS:

Buy some Alt-Insbruck

Alt-Insbruck is amazing stuff!! Smells wonderful!!

I would also recommend any of the American Classics: Skin Bracer, Aqua Velva, Old Spice, Clubman, Brut, Avon Wild Country, and Barbasol Pacific Rush, and Barbasol Brisk.

Okay I have never used a real after shave before, and I have just started DE shaving this week. I have used Nivea Cooling After Shave Balm but I think it is irritating my sensitive skin.

So can anyone recommend an A/S, preferably with a "cool" scent (ie: CK Be cologne, Gillette "Cool Wave" deodorant, or the aforementioned Nivea balm)?