What's new

My Bay Rum experiment

OK, so I've tried a couple Bay Rum's: Pinaud and Masters. Wasn't overly pleased with either.

Pinaud's set my face on fire and stunk of cloves. The clovey smell seemed to overpower the other scents there. I got more used to it with repeated use, but it wasn't a favorite.

Master's was very sweet and due to the level of glycerin in it, it was also heavy and sticky.

So one day I was thinking about these two and what each of their shortcomings were and it struck me that If I mixed the two, they might balance each other out. So I tried it, and roughly mixed them 50/50. What I ended up with was a pure delight. A perfect union of the two and a great leveling effect. I have no other experience with other brands, so I have nothing to compare, but this is what I expected a bay rum to be. I love it!

Last edited:
oh... what a great idea.

now I'm gonna have to try this!

and - wait a minute... it's coming to me.... I'm visioning...

.... I can see it - Imagine if you will - a potent and lovely mixture of Master & Pinaud - Lilac Vegetol with Lilac Vegetal................

...where will the madness end?

I got a bottle of Pinaud Bay Rum the other day at Walgreen's when I was in the big city. Slapped some on yesterday. My first reaction was that the stuff smelled awful. Then when my lady got a whiff of it.... she wrinkled up her nose and shook her head negative, and said, "No." :thumbdown

I probably be selling this stuff.

Master Well Comb AS. It's the real deal, not synthetic. And women love it. Here in north Texas every Sallys store has it. Does any know of a retailer in north Texas that stocks Superior 70 bay rum?

yes...the superior 70 bay rum from puerto rico is cheap , $2.49 at SOME walgreens,but it is never in the shaving section,usually in the "ethnic" section..very clean and natural scent...a best buy

Gents,