What's new

Is this a coti?

I see yellow coti's that sometimes have a brownish look to them (not tile) on one side that kinda looks almost purplish and I wonder if thats what this is. This stone is pretty smooth and mounted on something very coarse but it has very little specs of white all through it. It makes quite a slurry when I run it on 400 grit paper and water.It reminds me of a very hard piece of chalk. This piece is broken on one end but measures 2x4.5 inches on the shortest side and its 7/8" thick. Could someone help me identify it please? I am new to this. Thanks very much. Scott

Hi, I am pretty new too, but this does not look like a coticule, they are all yellowish. It might be a Belgian blue, but what color is your slurry? The BBW has a distinctive purplish slurry. Also, I have a Belgian combo stone and neither side feels chalky to me. The expert will weigh in soon, but I hope this helps.

Looks as if it could be a BBW (belgian blue stone), sometimes glued to the underside of a coticule and more rarely as a natural combination of the two. If it is one, the whitish dots are coticule material, meaning that the BBW will be a fast cutting stone (most are slow to medium) with a finer finish than normal (for instance if you said a normal bbw was 4000 grit, than one with these spots would be 5000 or higher, depending on the concentration of the dots).

Regards,
Neil

You need to look at a few threads on honing progressions and hone types/use. Depending on the perceived grit rating, maybe an 8,000 grit followed by a 10,000, 12,000 or 16,000 grit stone. There are many makes but you want to decide whether to stay to mainly mnatural stones or man-made.

A yellow coticule might be a sound next step as it can perform the tasks of several stones, depending on how hard it is (soft ones cut faster, hard ones finish better) and how thick a slurry you make.

Regards,
Neil

That's a low grit synthetic. Probably Carborundum.