Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Alternatives to witch hazel?

Default Alternatives to witch hazel?

So I am just getting started (and still working on just making a proper lather) but one thing I have found out is I really really don't care for the scent of witch hazel. Other then an alum block are there any suggestions/alternatives for an astringent to use?

Not an exact answer to your question (aside from WH and alum bars, I know of no other astringent for after your shave), BUT... doesn't Thayer's make many WH-ish products, some scented (rose, cucumber, etc.) and some unscented, that might fit the bill? ...That is, if it's simply the scent of Dickinson's or generic WH that's the problem for you.

Also, many mid- to upper-range aftershaves contain WH and/or alum (Speick comes to mind here...), so that might be another way for you to go. Happy shaving!
    [FONT=arial]John - [/FONT] If you enjoy the time you spend on B&B - [URL="http://www.badgerandblade.com/vb/payments.php"][COLOR=#004499]become a contributor[/COLOR][/URL] and support B&B!

The town Billy Joel bashes at every concert he performs.

I know what you mean. I threw out a perfectly good bottle of witch hazel because I thought it had gone bad.

Thayer's website has a sample pack of all their different scents. I'm temptedto give it a try, even though I don't use WH currently.
    Just a traveling cat in a tall black hat riding a goat. Nothing to see here.

Yep. Thayer's is the answer.

Although I have to say that although I originally thought regular witch hazel stank, over time I have come to tolerate the scent quite well. I've gotten used to it.
    Randall, member of BOTOC

I don't find the scent that bad. Isn't Thayers alcohol-free? I like the mild antiseptic qualities of the "regular" witch hazel that has some alcohol in it.

I think the simplest alternative would be using any aftershave which has some alcohol.