What's new

Tims straight shave diary

Well, I've taken the leap and ordered my first straight razor. Actually I have an old one but it's not shave ready at this point and I've never used it beyond practising stropping.

Anyway, Larry at WhippedDog has just sent out my beginner kit including strop and barber hone. He really is a great guy to deal with, highly recommended.

I've been DE shaving for some time now, but the idea of maintaining a blade sharp enough to shave with really appeals to me so here I go...

I'll be posting my progress or lack thereof here. Wish me luck! :001_cool:

(and yes, everyone I've mentioned this venture to thinks I'm nuts. Especially my wife who asked "why can't you find a hobby that doesn't involve sharp blades on your throat?")

I don't think you're nuts!

Good luck with your adventure. I'm a newbie too so if you have questions, ask away.

:thumbup:

This does feel like a bit of an homage to my Grandpa, a true Victorian Englishman (born 1895) who never had any use for the new-fangled safety razors that came out in his lifetime. He swore that when he could no longer safely wield his cutthroat he'd grow a beard. I remember the beard but have no idea where his shaving kit ended up, I'm sure it's long gone.

Always good to see some more fellow Canadians taking up the straight. Cheers!

My wife also questions my sanity.

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
Good luck, please post your first shave!

Always good to see some more fellow Canadians taking up the straight. Cheers!

My wife also questions my sanity.

Shouldn't that "cheers" be an "eh?"?
My wife stopped questioning my sanity years ago :lol:

My biggest challenge, has been working out how to strop :001_huh: . Apparently when I get that working, the rest will be easy :thumbup:

The shaves, certainly were easy enough going, the maintenance - not so much.