What's new

Sharpening knives - edge trailing or leading?

I learned to sharpen on waterstones using an edge trailing stroke (more or less self-taught from the Korin DVD from Sugai-san). Over the years, I have seen people using edge-leading strokes also, and I have been experimenting a bit lately. I am starting to think the edge quality is better edge-leading, but then again there is lots of variability in what I do. Any thoughts from other sharpeners or our resident experts Dave and Jon?

Hi Scotto, there's been a ton of talk and thought on this over the last few years. This subject is also discussed quite frequently on a professional sharpening level as well. What seems standard is that no one agrees. :001_smile

I hand sharpen edge leading because I find it easier - not because of edge quality that results from doing so. I can also sharpen edge trailing as well and find the cutting edge results the same. What I think matters is the direction of the edge that you leave on the knife. If you finish with the micro-teeth pointing forward then a thrusting cut works best and vice-versa for the pull cut. This is just like teeth on a saw blade.

I do notice that when I sharpen a cleaver or nakiri where I go straight down the length of the stone (on it's edge) that the knife doesn't cut worth a crap until I make a pass either edge trailing or leading OR I strop the knife. This is showing the teeth are folded in a direction along the edge as in flattened out. This is where I began to look at edge direction in finishing.

Anyway, that's my $0.02, let's here some other opinions.

Dave

When I was a kid, I could put a good edge on a knife in a heartbeat and I used a circular motion, going from the tip all the way to the hilt.

When I got to college, I "learned better" and started using an edge forward motion and I don't think I ever got a knife that I could really shave with (my arm) again.