What's new

Newbie confused!

:huh: Just when I thought I was understanding the process, I have a good shave with a combo I had written off. It was my third shave with the SS and 7 O'Clock -green and the first two were not so great. I have been trying to keep the variables to a minimum, just changing blades between 2 razors. I have been keeping the prep and shaving process and after shave routine constant. Why would the third shave be so much better?
I am no expert in the technique dept. but I have tried to lather and shave carefully, I really don't think that part has changed.
I also don't want to go thru 2 bad shaves to have one good one!
Your Thoughts?

Thanks,

Gene

I think at first it takes a while before your muscle memory gets in the right groove, so you just have to be patient with that. I would suggest staying with one razor so you eliminate that variable in your routine. I know this sounds crazy, but sometimes the first shave from a blade is not as good as subsequent shaves, so that may be a factor too. Also, have you used any other blades? I am not a fan of the 7 o'clock greens.

I have used:

Crystals:thumbdown
Shark Chrome:thumbup1:
Derby
7 O'clock ss

Haven't decided on the Derby's or 7 O clocks yet.

I have many more brands in my sample pack to try.

I just am surprised about the difference between 1st and 3rd shave!

Thanks,
Gene

Did you hit the green the 3rd time you swung a golf club?
This is learning process, and you need to be patient with yourself as you develop the new skills needed. As long as you pay attention to the fundamentals and learn something from every bad shave you'll progress quickly.

I have used:

Crystals:thumbdown
Shark Chrome:thumbup1:
Derby
7 O'clock ss

Haven't decided on the Derby's or 7 O clocks yet.

I have many more brands in my sample pack to try.

I just am surprised about the difference between 1st and 3rd shave!

Thanks,
Gene