What's new

How do you deal with stress?

I recently started graduate school(Master of Public Health) and working at two-part time jobs, one of which is requires me to work all night on Friday and Saturday. I'm also working towards registering as a sleep technologist, so I'm studying for that on top of my class work. Starting in January, I'll be studying to take the MCAT again and then the process of reapplying to medical school starts (which is enough stress for multiple lifetimes).

I exercise (cardio and weights) for 1.5 hours, 6-7 days a week, in an effort to lose more weight (went from 210 lbs to 200 lbs and eventually want to get down to 170 lbs).

No boasting going on, just letting you know my situation.

Before, exercise was enough to relieve any stress I had. As I go on with this
life I'm leading, I feel like the stress is building up and I have to beat it down harder and harder during my workouts.

To sum up, I need another outlet for this stress. I wish I could devote time to another activity (besides shaving), but I just don't have enough hours in the day. Smoking doesn't suit me. I smoked hookah, which is arguably the same as cigarettes, but I don't like what it does to my body during work outs. Nowadays, anything more than two German beers and I feel terrible in the morning; same for a glass of scotch, being that the effects are immediate.

Anyone do any stress management in the past? Please and thank you! :scared::scared::scared::scared::scared::scared::scared::scared::scared:

Also, share your stress stories and how you are coping. Hearing about other people's stress management can be helpful.

Can you get a pet of some sort? Although they add an obligation/level of responsibility, I found my dogs to be a great stress reliever back in my single days.

Alacrity59

Wanting for wisdom
If you want to avoid stress . . . Do not give your wife a copy of the good wife's guide. I, for one, will not even admit to seeing that document.