What's new

Shaving Soap: To cover or not to cover

I have never kept my soap covered and I have observed two negative effects:

First- The fragrance often diminishes over time.

Second- The soap shrinks and allows water to make it's way down the inside and bottom of the shaving mug.

On the other hand I have noticed that most of the higher priced soaps come in a small tub with a lid. This would probably counteract the above two negatives.

But, does not the lid method encourage mold and bacteria?

I wouldn't think so leaving it covered. My typical soap usage goes like this

1. Soak brush in hot water
2. Swirl on soap for a bit
3. Replace lid on soap and put back on shelf.

Never had I had a problem with soap nastiness and I don't leave the soaps to dry either.

I'm no scientist, but I'd tend to think that mold and bacteria would have a hard time growing on soap.

If i don't leave my MWF open it loses its nice clean smell and starts to smell a little sour, and other soaps I've used end up wallowing in wet protolather which makes the bottom of the soap kinda soft and gross.

Last edited:
Let dry, then cover. i have over 30 soaps that have lasted well over 2 years or so using this method. No mess, no fuss.

marty

I give it about 30 minutes to dry a bit, then close it up. Some of the manufacturers suggest rinsing the slurry then drying , but I dont leave much slurry and its never caused a problem anyway.

I am in the camp of those who let dry and then cover. Usually this is in the evening of the same day of use. This has been my practice for many years with no ill effects. To my way of thinking it just makes good scents. (Pun shamelessly intended.)

Doug

No cover. I leave all my soaps exposed to the open air. It is no different than a bar of soap and you usually don't cover those up but rather leave them out in the open to dry after use.