What's new

Which EDTs are known to be complex?

Hi all,

I'm a regular wearer of EDT/Cologne but I'm no expert by any means. My experience is very limited compared to some on here, however I have tried a few, both boutique and mass market.

I'm finding with a lot of scents, I just don't get much complexity!

Basically, I get the initial blast of top notes, then after a few minutes, the scent reaches a stage which sticks with me a few hours (just one accord) until it simply fades.

I get no sense of changing notes, or a progressive dry-down as the day goes by. They all seem pretty linear to me to the end.

So is it me? My nose? My body chemistry? Or am I just choosing the wrong scents?

Here's an incomplete selection of what I've tried of late:

• Samples of Penhaligons
  • Samples of Trumpers
  • A*Men
  • B*Men
  • Rive Gauche
  • Guerlain Vetiver
  • Givenchy Gentlemen
  • Bulgari
  • Acqua di Parma Colonia Assoluta

Any advice much appreciated!

John

i don't sense them either. some descriptions seem like an olympic dive. i just like what i like mostly but it helps to spray on a card and sniff it from time to time. i wouldn't have bought my gucci ph I had i not.