What's new

Should i go fancy or standard?

I am getting into DE razors after being turned onto them by a friend at work. Main thing i hate about cartridge razors is that they get clogged with hairs and i would love a fancy little grooming set on my bathroom counter to claim some man space! :blink:

I have settled pretty well on the 34C by Merkur. At the selling price of ~$35. BUT then i get to thinking, yes i am just getting into this, BUT this razor will theoretically be around for a long while, I'm not one to collect multiple objects that do the same job.

One of the main things that drew my eye originally to was the thought of a fancy little set sitting there to great me each morning. it was after i started reading the posts her when i realized it offered a better shave too.

Should i just get a standard 34C and start using it. Or should i get a fancy set and be done with it. can i add a nice handle to a 34C later in its life? What do you guys think of this guys work? I like these two that he makes along with the Rosewood. Also how long do the brushes last assuming you get a matching set?

http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Gold-Laced-...494161152?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0#ht_3848wt_911

http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Custom-Pyth...491340406?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0#ht_3483wt_911

I have a Elite Razors shave set myself and could not be happier with it. The brush is as good as any of my others (some high end), it is has a very soft dense knot. I got a Murkur 37C slant as my razor and it proved to be a bit to aggressive for me (or at least for my skill level). I'm happy to have it in my bathroom like you said, but I would have been better served testing one out first.