What's new

My search for the perfect shave....

My first post to this forum.

I've been shaving for many years, for the past 25 years + I've been using a variety of electrical shavers....but I haven't been happy with the final result.

As of late I've gone back to non electric shaving.

For the past month I've been using Gillette Sensor Three and Gillette shaver gel.

This combo is not bad...better shaves then my electric shavers have given me.

However I'm thinking seriously of going to the Double Edged shaver, I recall my father using one of these up to about the late 1950's.

He had a brush and used to mix up his shaving soap in a shaving mug.

Eventually, by the early 1960's (when I started shaving) he had gone to electric shavers.

I thought I would try the DE experience. Imagine my surprise when after a diligent and fruitless search, I was unable to find any DE shaver, shaving brush, shaving soap or DE blades in my Western Canadian city of around 700,000.

So....mail order it will have to be.

I've looked at what is available, but I'm not sure which way to proceed.

I've looked at some DE offerings from Muhle, Jenner, Parker, etc. I may have got the names wrong.

I like the idea of a stainless steel DE shaving tool.

I'm not sure which DE shaver, which blades would be the right ones for me.

I would say I've got a moderately heavy beard and also the Gillette Sensor Three blades seem to work well for me...except that I like the traditional look...and I'm guessing the feel..... of a DE shaver.

Also.....I know I may have committed a cardinal gaffe by saying this.... but do I need shaving soap...a shaving brush....a shaving mug with a DE shaver...as the Gillette Gel works very well with the Sensor Three shavers ?

Any suggestions ?

Thank you.

Les