What's new

Hypoallergenic Soap Recommendations

Folks,

I'm new to B&B and was wanting some advice. I have fairly sensitive skin and need a recommendation regarding hypoallergenic shaving soaps. So far I've tried a Poraso soap and it seemed to make my face break out in a rash. I've been using van Der Hagen Select soap for the last couple of weeks and it seems to be working Ok, but I was wondering if anyone had any other suggestions that might work. I'd like to have more than one option to use going forward. Thanks!

I have sensitive skin as well but haven't really found a soap that is hypoallergenic. I don't have a problem with VDH or some of the creams I have used, Derby and Old Spice come to mind. I also had trouble with Proraso. I shave before I shower so the soap isn't in contact with my face that long, I think I would encounter more problems if I did it the other way around.

My skin is very allergic and I've found Palmolive soap to be the best. I would also suggest Arko and both can be tested without spending much $.

I also love Tabac, Cade and Irisch Moos, but every once in a while, people talk about having a reaction to those. YMMV

Which Proraso soap did you try? Proraso makes a green tea and aloe based soap in a white tub which is specifically for people with sensitive skin.
Don't recall exactly since I've discarded it, but I know it came in a dark green plastic bowl.

Thanks everyone for the quick feedback and great suggestions. I'll check out everyone's recommendations.

I was in the cosmetics section of The Bay (Hudsons Bay Company, not Ebay) looking at the mens line a while ago and I asked the girl if I could smell the "Clinique". She informed me it is a hypoallergenic line with no fragrances, made specifically for senseitive skin types. It's a high end French line in the same class as Biotherm and Vichy so it's pricey but you may want to try it.

Last edited: