What's new

Gillette new too aggressive, what now

Hey everyone!
I have been using a merkur hd for a few years and decided to try a gillette new long comb. It does a much better job at getting the hairs on my neck. (With my 34C I have to make three passes to get them all.) No matter how slow I go or how lightly I shave, I get several cuts. I was looking at the merkur open comb or slant. Does anyone have experience with these razors? Are the merkurs more or less aggressive than the gillette?
Thanks in advance.

I have Merkur 15c which I find a bit less aggressive than a New but try other blades in the new if you haven't. Personally I prefer a Personna in an open comb and a Yellow 7 o'clock in other razors.

I have not heard of a gillette new long comb, but I would play with different blades a little before you give up on it.

I have not heard of a gillette new long comb, but I would play with different blades a little before you give up on it.

The long comb version is the one you typically see. The short combs are a little harder to find, though they seem to be a little more common in Canada.

I have used derby, and red personnas. I use a feather with my 34c and it slices nicely. With the other two blades in the new, I feel quite a bit more pulling.

The Long comb NEW can be blade sensitive, I've got good results with Derby, IP and Bic blades and not very good results with Feathers, too aggressive.

I love a New with a red Personna. Feathers bad, Derby harsh. Could you be a little off in your angle? Maybe give a short comb New a try, I find it more comfortable and easier to shave with.

I've had incredible results from my long comb new with astras and 7ams, which seem to be gillette 7 o'clock knockoffs. Great blades nonetheless.

Do try a bit more.
When handled right the NEW is a magnificent whisker mower!

The angle is a bit different on the NEW compared to other razors.
It's also a little more sensitive to the right angle, i.e if you are off, you will get burned..