What's new

sharpening pocket knives

gents...

what do you use for sharpening your pocket knives? i have recently picked up a few spyderco knives and wish to keep them sharp. i have zero knowledge about keeping these things sharp. i am considering the spyderco sharpmaker but don't want to get in over my head.

thanks!

s~s

I have the Spyderco sharpmaker and it works pretty well. I usually just use some ceramic croksticks for touchups.

A Spyderco Triangle Sharpmaker works pretty well but its one big drawback is that you can't thin the blade with it. The only thing you can do is sharpen the very edge of the blade. The more you sharpen, the more the blade thickens as it moves up. Take a look at this page from Chad Ward:
http://forums.egullet.org/index.php?showtopic=26036

It outlines most of the common ways to sharpen. The article is written mainly toward kitchen knives, but it is applicable to all knives and pocket knives will be easier to sharpen because they are shorter. If I had to learn from scratch, I would learn on a stone.

Dennis

The Sharpmaker is pretty foolproof if you take the time to watch the video and/or booklet. In my mind, the Sharpmaker is a great "keep 'em sharp" gizmo but the key is not letting your new Spydercos get dull in the first place.

Also, as many Spyderco blades are serrated, you can sharpen them with the Spyderco white stones.

If you truly wish to learn the art of sharpening, you'll learn how to do it freehand with stones. Also, the best product on the market IMHO, albeit expensive, is the Edge Pro Apex.

As it sounds as though you are just getting into knives, and Spyderco are great knives with wickedly sharp edges, my advice would be to get the Sharpmaker.

As you may have just started down the nasty slippery slope to becoming a KnifeKnut, you may wish to visit : http://www.bladeforums.com/

Check this web site out.
www.accusharp.com