What's new

One odd spot...no burn just bumps

Hello all,

I am fairly new to DE shaving (about two months) and for the most part it all couldn't be going better. I just have one major issue and any suggestions would be much appreciated.

I do three passes n-s, n-s, xtg I tend to always use a super lather, I use feather blades in a Merkur 38C.

My shave is a near perfect BBS every time except for the lower right side of my neck. I am left handed. I never feel any burn at all but if I go for near BBS that area looks just aweful and I have to ride to work with my AC blowing directly on my neck the whole time just to be presentable.

This is probably a problem with angle, as I have a lot of trouble holding the razor correctly in that area when doing xtg. It gets loose and clumsy and I have to try pretty hard to not nick myself (Thus far no nicks though :))

How do you compensate for the lack of coordination on the odd sides of your face? Could I be doing something else wrong? Should I just avoid xtg in that area?

I'm afraid I can't help you with this matter but I'm sure some of the guys on here will offer advice. But could you maybe just settle for one pass less so as to not irritated the skin?

Anyway I just wanted to say welcome along as it's your first post!

Welcome to B&B!

I second the lady barber's suggestion: don't go for BBS in that area.

Funny, I get a better shave on the left side, and I am right-handed. You could try switching hands for that area. If you do, it may take some practice before you feel comfortable.

Is it possible that the problem area has a different grain pattern than you think, so that N-S is XTG or even ATG? It's quite common to have odd, asymmetrical patterns on the neck.

Like the other wise people said, check your stubble, how does it grow, my neck-hair sort of just twirls around all over the place around the adam's apple.

Leave that spot for now. No one else but you knows that it's not BBS.