What's new

Shaving Neck Line

Good morning.

I still find that shaving my neckline ATG is tricky unless I have multiple days growth. Brand new blades even seem to snag and pull....leaving behind weepers.

Hot shower prep, even hot toweled last night after the hot shower...still have problems shaving ATG on my neck line.

It's difficult but it's not impossible to ATG shave the neck area. Tilt your chin up and out to create a flat, taut shaving area. This should help in many cases, but there is no guarantees as each neck is different.

There was a Mantic video that talked about using a J-hook type of motion. I think it was one of his advanced videos. To the sides of my adam's apple right below my jawline I use this J-hook maneuver to get a fairly close shave on my neck.

Granted I'm no expert since I'm on my 9th DE shave, but I am pleased with the results.

--Chris

I was referring to the bottom of my neck...below the adam's apple.

Unless I let the whsikers get longer it seems like the razor/blade snags those whiskers. Regardless of prep.

Any thoughts? Maybe a shave oil? I just purchased a water softner system...should be operational this week. Hopefully that will help.

That is the single most difficult aria for me as well. My beard radically changes direction in it's growth at the bottom of the neck. Carefully mapping that growth went a long way towards solving that problem. Wearing a collared shirt and tie can exacerbate any irritation so figure out how to get presentable and comfortable shaves in that aria before shooting for BBS.

I also have the most problems right below my adam's apple. You'll want to really pay attention to hair growth. I cannot go ATG in that area..I can barely do a XTG without getting irritation. As always, pressure and angle are super critical in this spot.

For me I had to learn to live with the stubble. I have found that a preshave oil helps though.

Not to be flip, but my first thought was "so don't shave ATG on your neck."