What's new

Russian Roulette

Hi All:

Newbie here!!

I just had my first wet shave tonight with a Merkur Futur!

My story:

I have been reading a bunch of these Wet Shave Forums for the last 2 -3 weeks and decided I wanted to obtain the perfect shave for a decent price. I was tired of paying a lot of cash for the Gillette Mach 3 cartridges.

A few days ago I decided to call classicshaving.com and order a Merkur HD - the CS consultant said a Futur would be better for me because I have a heavy coarse beard - so, I ordered the Futur. I then ordered a Vulfix brush, shaving creams and soaps from a different company. I also ordered the Letter K blade sampler.

The Futur arrived today, however the Vulfix brush and creams were no where to be seen. I was obsessed with handling and staring at the Futur -- it seemed so fined tuned and precision compared to a Mach 3 handle.

Anyway, I could not stand it any longer, I had to have my first we shave. I jumped into the shower and kept splashing hot water on my face. The only shave cream I had was the Edge Active cream in a tube. I rubbed that on my face and proceeded to gently glide the Futur over my stubble. I just let the weight of the razor do the work (after reading so many posts about letting the razor do it's job - I was terrified to use any pressure).

I did 2 WTG passes and 1 XTG pass - I was too nervous to go ATG.

I could not believe how effective wet shaving is -- I got a very close shave, a tad better than the Mach 3 and it was only my first time wet shaving. It took me about 35 minutes but I only had 1 tiny nick (and I think that was just opening up a Mach 3 nick).

I am definitely a convert - I know I am a long way from being a master but the ride sure is going to be fun.

Thanks to everyone on this forum -- I read a ton of posts and I am sure w/o you guys my face would have been hamburger.