What's new

ginger beer

2 days ago i made up a batch of ginger beer.i'll give it a try later today.it is suppose to be an alchohol version of ginger ale with a more powerful ginger kick.i've made wine before but this is my first attempt at this beverage.
any one else here have any experience with ginger beer?

I've never made Ginger Beer before but of the dozens of varieties I've seen for sale, none of them are alcoholic. I have seen several recipes that CAN be made alcoholic though. I wonder how it tastes?

Now you need some Goslings - Black Seal Rum so you can make some "Dark and Stormy's".

The best Ginger beer I've ever had comes from A J Stephans of Fall River, MA.

My grandmother was Cajun and she grew up in the swamps of LA...her family made pretty much everything..including Ginger Beer...The stuff they made was spice hot and had a good kick to it..

The funny thing about her was she would tell you stories when she was a little girl and having to work the still....while all the older people were sitting around smoking mary jane!!....

She said the first time she walked into a drug store that carried cigs she thought it was so cool how they could roll all joints the same!!

I make ginger beer all the time in the summer. Sometimes I go crazy and make a "double-ipa" style ginger beer in that the starting gravity and resulting alcohol content is pretty high. I do back off on the hop additions as the ginger has a bittering effect. What's nice about these high gravity beers is that they age rather well. If the ginger is too strong (I'm always pushing the edge there) cellaring it for a few years makes for a mighty fine beverage. The ginger kick mellows and blends in over time.

One of the better commercially-brewed ginger beers I have tried is Left Hand Brewery's "JuJu Ginger Ale". Every other one I have tried is disappointing compared to what I can brew on my own or compared to Left Hand's. Happy brewing!