What's new

Best size for Saddleback Leather Briefcase?

Heya Gents,

I graduated from college a few weeks ago, having promised, years ago, that I would buy a Saddleback Leather bag as a graduation present to myself. Well, I've narrowed it down to Chestnut (to match my Saddleback medium bi-fold), but am having a helluva time choosing between medium and large.

As I see it, the bag will largely be for day-to day life, transporting my laptop, books. From that perspective, medium seems to make the most sense, as it will closely fit my laptop without a ton of extra room.

On the other hand, I would like the ability to carry more now and then, for example, when traveling on a plane, etc., and the thought of having the room to fit a few more essentials/necessities is appealing. For this reason, I am leaning towards the large.

Those of you who have the bags, what size do you own? Do you wish the bag was larger or smaller? It may seem like an inane question, but for a kid fresh out of college, this is not a purchase made lightly. I know that Saddleback's quality and product is second to none, but I want to make sure that I get the size that will suit me best. I really appreciate any input or insight you have!

Congratulations on graduating! Well done. That being said...I personally do not own a Saddleback yest but I would suggest the large size. When push comes to shove, it is always better to have too much room rather than not enough and have to have an extra bag.

Steve

Alacrity59

Wanting for wisdom
I'd get the large or extra large. Air Canada Carry on maximum is 16"x22"x9". My laptop is 14" x 12" and I like to pack a numeric keypad, adaptor, and mouse.

Congratulations on graduating. I think your choice of celebration gift is great in that it could serve you well for decades.

Mike

I got the large after graduating in May. It sometimes feels a bit too big, but then again, I'll never want for space with it.