What's new

What gives? Mitchells Wool Fat

After unsuccessfully producing a lasting lather from Col.Conk Bay Ruhm for weeks, I purchase MWF and generating lather is like falling off of a log.:w00t:

I thought MWF was FUSSY. My experience is anything BUT. I do not believe I will ever use anything else!

It is quite the mystery. Perhaps a different technique is needed for Glycerin based soaps?:angry:

I am still a newbie. Full of questions and observations! This Mitchells Wool Fat is the BEES KNEES!

-Crisp

I have tried a few different Conk scents, and the Bay Rum performed the worst. Amber the best. I've heard it varies from scent to scent, and even within a scent, from puck to puck.

I do still hold that MWF doesn't lather quite as easily as, say, Tabac. It's nice, slick lather every time I touch it - but it doesn't explode like Tabac does for me.

Thanks for the replies. Glad to see somebody shared the same experience. I am going to have to buy another puck of Col.Conk just for the challenge. Definitely not the Bay Ruhm though, I don't need THAT much challenge again.:thumbdown

ouch

Stjynnkii membörd dummpsjterd
But before you give up on glycerine soaps, give some QED's a try.

MWF is a great performer and lathers excellent for me.

I have, I think given up on glycerin soaps. I think. What is different about QED soaps? Maybe I want to try the lime.

I have, I think given up on glycerin soaps. I think. What is different about QED soaps? Maybe I want to try the lime.

QED is LOADED with yummy frag oils. The lime is easily top two of those out there.

I had the exact opposite experience of the OP. MWF is a pain to lather properly, but my puck of Conk's Bay Rum kicks a lather real quick. For all the Conk knocking that goes on around here, I really like my current puck.

But before you give up on glycerine soaps, give some QED's a try.

And some Mama Bear.

Conk just sucks pond water, imho. MWF is almost divine. Yeah, tallow.