What's new

stropping and honing

i just ordered a dovo 6/8 as my first straight razor. i am mostly curious about how one maintains the blade. i know i will need a strop, but i'm not quite sure what the paste is for. also, if a buy a strop will i need a sharpening stone as well? i want to get this part right so i don't get discouraged. i know that you folks are probably tired of answering newbie questions, but if figure the sooner i get this out of the way the sooner i'm not a newbie and can start helping others with questions.

oh, and i'm transitioning from a merkur heavy duty so i already have the brush and soap....

thanks again all.

I too just got a new dovo straight as a gift and would like info on getting it shave ready. I tried to use it right out of the box and it seemed to hang up on my whiskers. I ve had a few barber straight shaves that seem to just glide on my face.

Strops are used for daily maintenance of a razor. Many people use them after shaving (after the razor has been rinsed and wiped clean) to heat the very fine edge and get all of the water out to prevent microscoping rusting.
Before the shave you'll want to strop to align the microscopic serrations (or "teeth") on the fine cutting edge in order to give you a much smoother shave. Paste is generally used on a strop that is not for daily use. Many people use diamond spray or chromium oxide paste on a dedicated strop to touch up a razor, or to give it a super fine edge after honing.
Honing is a wholenother skill in itself. Honing is the actually sharpening of a blades edge and for now should be done by a professional. Many people will buy a cheap razor to practice honing.

Hope this info helps, keep up your research!

Once you've got the groove down and have pushed past the pretty steep learning curve, you can use pastes to your taste about once a month and a touch up stone every 3 months.

For me it took quite a while to get there.