What's new

the golden nib

hey,
im just about to restore an old brush. it should get a 24mm the golden nib knot. but which? whats the difference between super badger and silvertip? and silvertip grade a? or should i get the uk silvertip?

help me please, cause im pretty new to this!

I would search through this very forum timo...tons of information about brush restorations and the different knots...I've been hearing good things about the UK silvertip in 24mm...but at close to $50..WOW. The finest and the silvertip grade A are lovely knots, I've tried them both myself.

I just set a 24 mm Finest with extra hair knot at 50 mm and it is a monster. A nice soft knot with a good amount of backbone.

It's a heck of a nice knot for the money and the folks at TGN are awesome. I ordered two knots on Friday and they were waiting for me when I got home from work on Monday. All I can say is give them a call if you have questions.

You definately can't go wrong w/ a Finest Fan shape. As said before, they have great backbone and luxuriously soft tips. Shoot Tony a e-mail and I'm sure he will gladly answer any questions you might have. Good luck and Welcome to B&B!!

hey, thanks for your help! i think ill stick to a finest or the grade a silvertip. i dont want a chubby brush since i've got one allready.