What's new

Preventing razor corrosion

Should I use gun oil or grease on a razor? if so what kind?

What should I do to protect against rust? What is right to use on straight razors.

Zowada says RIG grease. Has anyone tried this? What are your thoughts?

I live in a humid climate. I am a DE user, although I do have a couple str8s and use them occasionally. Since I do not use them everyday, I coat them lightly with gun oil, but degrease and clean them thoroughly prior to use. Cleaning is followed by a dip in rubbing alcohol to remove any remaining oil and water.

RIG (Rust Inhibiting Grease) is for long term storage and lubricating moving parts. I did have my straights in storage for about 8 years, and I coated them with RIG* prior to storage.

* I am a firearms instructor. RIG is nothing more than WHEEL BEARING GREASE (A.K.A. "RED GREASE"). You can pay $12 for a couple of ounces of RIG at the gun store, or you can go to the local auto parts store and purchase a ONE POUND CAN (16 oz) of Pennzoil Premium Wheel Bearing Grease, 707L Red Grease for $3!

This is what I use for long term storage, and the lubricating grease for M1 Garands and AK-47s. I also use it on most semi and full automatics if I will be teaching in a very cold climate, as its operating temperature range is beyond that of most other lubricants.

Ballistol. Good protection for the steel, non-toxic, and it rinses off :w00t:

I use it mixed with water to clean corrosive primer residue from hundred year old firearms, and then use it liberally to treat the metal and wood as a preservative. It's passable as a lubricant too, but modern stuff's better there.