What's new

Bourbon

I am a Single Malt Scotch person who is entering the world of Bourbon. The first bottle I purchased was Jefferson's Presidential Select and I would like to add to my Whiskey Den. However I would like more bottles of Bourbon than pucks of shaving soap so my budget is under $40.00 a bottle (Lucky that I am new to wet shaving and DE) Please help with suggestions.

If you feel that a really good puck of soap is worth a good bottle bourbon please list that also

Chris

PS the Presidential Select is a great Bourbon

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
+1 on Elijah Craig 12yo

Maker's Mark is also very nice to start with.

Great Whiskey
Old Grand Dad 114 ($22-$28) is the best deal out there right now.
You can try it neat, but it may be more palatable with a good splash of water.

A great choice at the top end (or just beyond) of your price range is Four Roses Single Barrel.

Friendly Whiskey
Weller products are very accessible products that begin where Maker's Mark leaves off: fairly sweet, not bitter, vanilla, and a bit of oak. Weller Special Reserve, Antique and Weller 12 are good choices that deliver much more for the money than Maker's.

In this vein, any Van Winkle product you can justify the price for would probably be quite pleasant.

Meet the New Boss, Same as the Old Boss
A great change of pace from bourbon is its big brother, American Rye, which is starting to get its propers again after decades of being dissed. You might try ryes such as Rittenhouse (the bottled in bond version) or Sazerac Rye. Some would also recommend Wild Turkey's Rye or even Beam's Rye. All of these are in the $14-$28 range. And make no mistake, American Rye is the Boss.

Bling, Bling

Maker's Mark, Woodford Reserve and any Jack Daniel's product have great marketing campaigns and inoffensive whiskey. If you want name recognition on your shelf, check them out.