What's new

Proraso Lathering Help

Hello to all,

I am kinda new to straight shaving and I have been trying different shaving creams and soap and what not. After reading many forums and listening to many opinions, I went out and bought the tubed version of the proraso cream.

I like to have a nice warm lather but everytime I mix the proraso in a bowl, it literally takes me 10+ min. By then the bowl is cold along with the lather. I usually boil water and fill the bowl up for a few minutes to warm the bowl and leave the brush in hot water, but the lather still gets cold. I've tried different methods of mixing such as wet brush/dry bowl or dry brush/ wet bowl. No matter what I do, the proraso lather doesnt turn out nice.

I've looked for videos all over youtube on how to make proraso lather and all i get is some proraso commercial with an italian barber following an italian man everywhere in a grocery...i know...pretty random.

So I was wondering if there is anyone out there with the green/white proraso tube cream that may be able to help me by making a video on youtube showing how to make warm proraso lather in a bowl. I really like the smell of proraso and don't want to use another type of cream.

By the way, I've also tried lathering by the face with proraso and the lather comes out way too thick no matter what I do. Then the shave seems sooooo dry and uncomfortable.

-shaving.newbie

For me, I squeeze all the water out of my brush, add about an almond size dollop of cream to my mug, and start swirling my brush around. I leave my faucet running in the smallest stream I can get, and I add just as much water as I get by running my mug under the stream as quickly as I can. I just keep whipping until it is soft and shiny(not sharp peaks), and it usually takes me about two minutes to get good lather that way.