What's new

Flip the blade over?

So I'm driving home today and contemplating my next shave when a question hit me.

I'm new to DE shaving so there are lots of things I don't know about that is old hat to you regulars. I've been reading these forums for a couple of months but have never seen anything said about this...

Should I be flipping over my blade in my razor after a shave, or every other shave, to extend blade life? I currently use one blade a week (3-4 shaves) and this has worked out fine without flipping it, but would flipping it extend this?

Inquiring minds what to know!

What do you guys do?

Should I be flipping over my blade in my razor after a shave, or every other shave, to extend blade life?

Inquiring minds what to know!

What do you guys do?

Nah... I don't see that flipping the blade would make any difference in blade longevity. I just plunk them in my razor and use them till they're shot :001_smile

I don't think there is anything to support the merits of controlled flipping. But many may do this naturally as the blade moves back and forth between razor and storage.

Marco

B&B's Man in Italy
Flipping the blade between shaves is, in my opinion, completely useless: the cutting edge is still the same.
Once the blade loses its sharp edge, there is nothing you can really do.

Yep, don’t bother wasting the time and potential of getting unnecessarily cut. Unless you’re one to try those old crank DE Blade strops… :yikes:
The edge is going to dull the same, or negligible difference as it is used each shave. Shaving every day with 2 passes most blades last me a week.

Well I guess its YMMV, I tried the flipping thing, and it appeared after 2-3 shaves, I flip it and then I get 2-3 extra shaves, still smooth...go figure what's the "science" behind this...but anyway, it's not night and day, just a little extra to extend blade life...