What's new

First shave with my Dovo Special (Tortoise)

Ordered my 5/8 Dovo Special for $105 from vintagebladesllc (best price I could find)...

Boy was everyone right about this one... It is WAY better looking in person! Not that it didn't look nice in the pictures, but those pictures just do not give the credit the razor deserves!

As for the shave... The razor was sent to me shave ready, and the blade looks especially nice. However, I am a complete beginner when it comes to straights, so there was a little pulling, as well as a nick here and there. All of this I completely attribute to my technique.

Here is where I beg for any suggestions on my shaving technique... I really wonder if I am using the appropriate blade angle, and the right amount of pressure for that matter. I think I may be using to large of an angle, thus leading to my razor skipping. I may even be using too much pressure, but that I am not entirely sure on... Thoughts?

Regardless of this first shave, I know my technique will improve and I will only enjoy this razor more and more as time goes on. Very happy with my purchase! Oh... did I mention how good it looks? :lol:

I'm in the same boat as you, bought the same razor a while back and am still trying to learn how to use it properly. It really is a stunning razor though. I think I need to get mine honed because it definately isn't as sharp as when I got it, probably my stropping caused it to loose its edge.

Keep the blade almost flat against your face, a really low angle

Thank you SO much for that little bit of advice! It made my shave go so much better. Granted, it still has a long way to go, but now I can at least see a buttery smooth straight razor shave as that light at the end of the tunnel. Before I thought it to be impossible :001_smile

congrats! chimensch gave me that same tip a couple of weeks ago and it really got me rolling. i am sure i would never have attempted this with out all the fine help and support from this site.