What's new

Blade sample pack - Blade review by a newb

Hi all

Ok so im new to this, well 6 weeks or so. I purchased a blade sample pack and will update this thread as I work through it. I know blades are a personal choice and any views posted here are my own. The pack consists of: Derbys, Astra Superior platinums, Feathers, Personna Platinum Reds, Gillette 7 o clock sharpedge, Iridium Supers, Platinum Supers.

First Blade: Derby

The cheap and cheerfull turkish blades have had there run of bad press about blade consistency. I can agree with this, I used a pack of 5 (15 shaves worth) and can say some great shavers and some dreadfull ones, last blade was used for 2 shaves then binned.

Second Blade: Astra Superior Platinum

The only thing I can say in comparison to the Derby's is wow, first shave with the Astra today, and to me its superior to the derbys in smoothness, sharpness and didnt give me any irritation at all. Hope the rest of this 5 pack is as good as the first.

Ok so im on my second Astra blade, and I must say that I am a little dissapointed to be honest. First Astra blade lasted 3 shaves, first shave was awesome but the second shave had a marked deterioration in quality with the 3rd shave only just passing muster. Is it just me or do these blades lose their sharpness quite quickly, thats how it definitely seems to me.

Last edited:
I, too have had superior results with the Astra Superior Platinum blades. I haven't had the bad experiences with the Derbys that other guys have related here, though. I guess my mileage varied!:lol:

I have only used Derby's so far since I have nothing to compare to I'm satisfied. I have a sampler pack as well and maybe I should try something else then Derby's since there be some doubts on consistency in quality.
Last Derby blade went in the bin after 2 shaves only....