What's new

U.S. hardware store razors

I am new to straights and have been playing with them for relatively cheap. I currently have six of them. With the exception of a Wostenholm, the rest of my razors are all cheap U.S. hardware store razors - one Torrey, the rest relatively unknown. By the time I've paid for them and had most of them honed I could have had a nice Dovo.

My late grandfather ran a general store until the Great Depression wiped him out, and he shaved with Belknap hardware John Primbles (probably leftovers pulled from his shelf, I'd imagine) until the day he died. I haven't found a decent Primble I can afford yet but one day I will. The old American hardware store razors appeal to me.

Am I missing out on not getting a Henckels or a Dovo or a Thiers or a Boker? Probably, and one day I may try one of those, if straight shaving works out for me. But for now there is just something about learning how to shave with an antique piece of American history that puts a smile on my face. :001_smile

If you enjoy your shaves, you are not missing out. To be honest, the main difference between some of my razors is who bought them and why than it is the result that I get.

Man, I'd "No, you're not missing out". My favorite razor is an inexpensive american razor (Yankee Cutlery). I really like my Genco Fluid Steel, which was the recipient of an excellent j-nat edge from richmondesi. I've also got a Korn Booster razor via holli4pirating, which I've managed to fall in love with after only a few shaves. They compare very well to a vintage Le Grelot and a sheffield wedge I've got hanging around.

U

Utopian