What's new

Merkur Question

CzechCzar

Use the Fat, Luke!
I have made the rounds with razors. Gillette superspeeds, red tips, fat boys, Deluxes, GEMs, merkur 38c, merkur slant, and on and on. Every razor performed at least adequately, but not one has been able to beat my Merkur HD. RAD has been dormant for quite some time, until I realized that, well, it's been quite some time.

I am thinking of trying another Merkur, either a progress or an HD-open comb 11c. I have seen less-than-stellar reviews on the progress. The open-comb is tempting, but I wonder if it performs any better than the slant. The two more expensive merkurs, the vision and the futur, intrigue me, but they are expensive and I have seen mixed reviews of both. Those are the two I am really thinking about. I'd appreciate some opinions as to which is better: the vision or the future? (how do you make a poll on here dangit?)

Any recommendations?

Last edited:
I've been using the Futur for almost 3 months with a grat result with many different blades and soaps, it's very versatile.

As far as you seem to have more than enough experience I'd encourage you to go for it.

The progress is far weightier than the HDs but still balanced - which I haven't found the case with the barber poles.

Progress also dials up a lot more aggresively than the HD. In fact mine dialled down is more aggressive. Plus, if you get one with a perfectly even blade gap on each side, you've won the lottery.

I too have read negative views on the pricey Merkur adjustables. Merkur QC often doesn't match the ambition of the design. The progress is as much as I'd pay for a razor with potential (or actual) 'quirks'.

I've resisted RAD because I just haven't found anything that suits me better than the regular HD & its slant version. Such a well balanced, flickable razor and hard to stuff up.

As Homer says: