What's new

Just shaved the way I used to...

Using an M3 and canned shave gel. :ohmy:

Now here's the problem:

1. I got a much closer shave using the M3 than the DE. Granted, this was a 3-pass with an ATG in there, but still.... I think it's because I'm still a newbie at DE and still nick myself routinely.
2. Hardly any nicks, goes hand in hand with point 1 above.
3. I miss the shave brush and the nice warm lather I get! I also miss the "macho-ness" factor that comes with a DE!
(All my DE stuff is at my SO's place right now...)

Blehh..

-ice

By all means use what works for you. For me, shaving with a sensor or m3 is tangibly less close and less comfortable than a DE or SE shave.

M3 worked well for me. But it's dull. And all that money wasted on blades when I could be trying a new soap or cream.

When was the last time you looked forward to buying cartridges?

Makes sense to me. You have a much better understanding of shaving at this point, carts are very user friendly, and you did three passes with 4 or 5? blades each time. I think the main drawbacks, if you know you to treat you skin kinder, are the price of the alternative to the DE and the lack of a more traditional experience. I for one have very little motivation to return to cart shaving any time soon. However, I certainly do not have less respect for a person that finds that they get better shaves doing so.

I'm with Mattbikes on this one. I get closer (slightly) shaves with a Trac-II cartridge, but I always get irritation from them and they're way too expensive.

To top it off, if I use a cartridge more than once, maybe twice, I get some nasty acne-like stuff going on.

Something that the DE razor has going on for it is that even if you're using the same blade for 4-5 shaves, you can actually CLEAN the damn thing! Take it out, rinse it off real good, spritz it with some alcohol, etc. If nothing else the DE has cleanliness on it's side.