What's new

Used Bicycle Cost?

My son is looking for a used mountain bike. He found one at a local bike shop that meets his budget (what dad will pay for while he is still in school). It is an 80's something Fuji Thrill. It seems to be in good condition for it's age. It is an 18 - 20 inch frame. He is 6-4 so I think the frame will fit. The shop took it in on a trade. They swear by the components, saying they even replaced the brakes.

They are asking 125.00. Does this seem right? Where is the best place to find a bike in the 100. to 300. dollar range?

Any thoughts?

Thanks.

try pinkbike.com. tons of good classifieds on parts and whole bikes all over the us and canada.

if he's 6'4" that frame size might be a bit small for him. i'm no expert by any means, but a true 21" frame might be better if you can find one.

It is hard to say without knowing more about the makeup of the bike, but $100-$300 should get a decent used bike. For other sources, I would look on Craigslist or go to a local bike shop and see if they have any used bikes.

1 frames are not in inches, ever. Bikes are metric, every part.

2 there have been massive advances in bike tec since the 80s and this applies much more to mountain bikes especially if he will be riding it on the mountain.

3. top tube is a much more important part of bike fit then seat tube.

4. there is no guide price.

When buying a bike you need to consider how far and how often you will ride it, what conditions you will ride it in and how long you want to keep it. Never buy a bike with out brand name componantry on it. Never buy a bike with visible rust or dents.

1 frames are not in inches, ever. Bikes are metric, every part.

Maybe that is true of road bikes, but all of the mountain bikes I have purchased have the frame size in inches. I live in the US, so that might make a difference.