What's new

Please help with Linux!!

Hi All,

This is a question aimed at anyone who has a knowledge of, or runs Linux operating systems on a PC.

Here goes - I have a desktop PC that I want to set up and maybe let my son use too. The system has a wireless network card which I would like to have working (for the internet). I wanted to give Linux a go as I heard some good comments about it, and want to know:
  1. Which version of Linux should I use?
  2. Is the wireless networking side easy to set up on Linux?
  3. I have NO experience of Linux so, is it easy to use? (I'm an XP man).
A BIG thanks in advance to all who reply!!! :biggrin:

I went to a site called "distrowatch.com" and downloaded a version of Ubuntu. It was a live CD (almost 700MB download)which means you can boot up your computer with the CD in and it will load the operating system(Ubuntu) into your memory. Play around with it and see if you like it or that it's for you. If you would like to keep it on your system you have the option of installing it. If not, reboot without the CD and everything reverts back to normal. I am probably going to dual boot XP and Ubuntu. There are a lot of user groups on the Distrowatch.com site to help with virtually any questions you might have or any problems you encounter

Hi All,

This is a question aimed at anyone who has a knowledge of, or runs Linux operating systems on a PC.

Here goes - I have a desktop PC that I want to set up and maybe let my son use too. The system has a wireless network card which I would like to have working (for the internet). I wanted to give Linux a go as I heard some good comments about it, and want to know:
A BIG thanks in advance to all who reply!!! :biggrin:

Hi,