What's new

First cartridge shave

Unlike many others here, I have never used a cartridge before I switched to proper wetshaving, I shaved with an electric razor for 30 years.
Now that I have discovered the delights of traditional wetshaving, I wanted to see for myself what all the hate was about and bought a cheap Balea cartridge razor (Balea is the in-house brand of the German drugstore chain DM). I used it with my usual prep (hot towel) and Haslinger soap. When I started to shave, I half expected sulfurous fumes to rise from my sink and and to hear the ghosts of wetshavers past to condemn me to eternal suffering...Well, at least I was waiting for some dragging, pulling, razor burn or instant ingrowns...But nothing of that sort happened.
What I got was an uneventful, comfortable and very close shave, BBS actually.
BUT: As good as the shave was, it was utterly boring. It was just a shave, no experience like a good DE shave is (but also not a terrible experience like a bad DE shave).
If I were just after the result, this would have been it. But since I like the experience and the challenge of DE shaving as well as the pleasure I get from it, let alone the endless tinkering with soaps, blades, brushes and razors: I won't become a shaving apostate. But I'll probably keep that cart razor for travelling or the days when I just can't be bothered.
Relevance? None whatsoever, I just felt like sharing.:001_smile

Another thing you may want to try as an experiment is compare the cart razor to DE buy using it for two weeks striaght. Maybe your face won't react at all. I can only speak for myself, my cart shave was good also but if I go at it more than a few days, my face really starts to hate me. Give it a shot and post your findings.

I used to use the "beast with 5 heads" more commonly known as the fusion.
The shave was good, but very expensive and yes, boring.
Add goo from a can to that mix and you've got a real snoozer of a shave.:sleep1: