What's new

Homemade Balm Recipe and Ingredients

Anyone have homemade balm recipes?

What are the ingredients?

Level of difficulty?

Or perhaps know of a vendor who sells cheap unscented balm, then I can add my own fragrance?

Goals:
Moisturize
Assist healing (aloe/Vitamin E)
Scent
Clone AOS product

Thanks,
Jake

I was planning on making a balm next week. I'm using the following:

Aloe Vera Gel (3oz)
Cocoa Butter (2 Tbsp)
Vitamin E (1/2 Tbsp)
Tea tree oil (~5 drops)
Lavender oil (~5 drops)

I am debating whether to add Witch Hazel or to keep it as a separate step in the post-shave process. I should note that I am in no way an expert - in fact, I've never tried this before - and I based my recipe on products which I know will be good for the skin.

Have you tried any recipes that worked?

Here's a home brew that feels pretty good. All mixed in a 4 oz plastic travel bottle with a squirt top.

2 oz unscented aloe vera gel
1 oz unscented witch hazel
1/2 oz of unscented moisturizer lotion (Vaseline Intensive care)
10 drops +/- liquid glycerin

scent of choice ( I used Ogallala Bay Rum, 2nd batch using Superior 70-$)

For starters this combination seemed to work well. Just a hint of the bay rum but with the soothing feeling of the aloe vera.

Too much glycerin and the concoction will feel sticky.

I put a big squirt in my hands, do my face, and wipe the remaining on my arms. "Look good, feel good, and smell good!" :thumbup:

I posted this elsewhere before, but it bears repeating. I make various flavors like this.

1 sandwich sized (or thereabouts) ziplock bag
13-15 grams (about one level Tablespoon US) of Goat's Milk Multi-Base Lotion (buy the 1 pound tub for cheap!)
1/2 teaspoon (US) Jojoba oil (optional)
70-100 ml Witch Hazel - I prefer Dickensons. Yes, the smelly stuff with alcohol - it'll be fine, trust me!
Scent if you want it. Example 3 ml Old Spice Scent oil concentrate from one of the web suppliers, or a somewhat larger amount of cologne of your choice.