What's new

Short, soft, backbone brush under $80?

I don't like/plan to spend more than $75 really but I'm looking for something taller than a wee scott, not huge but a good soft knot with some back bone. I've been using a Vulfix for about 3 years now. Great brush, but I just want to get a stiffer brush that's just as soft and medium sized. Any suggestion AND links/photos would be great. Thanks!!!

chris

Just got a Simpson Case in best and I like it a lot. I prefer smaller brushes for face lathering, got it off thesuperiorshave.com for a great price with free shipping and the travel tube.

I have a a few Rooney and Simpson brushes. FOr the money, the best value is my 1/1 in best from classicshaving. It was around 55 bucks, has great backbone, and soft tips. The handle of the 1/1 is small for some, but for me it is perfect. The 3/1 in super (75 bucks) is also excellent. Good luck, avoid SBAD!

Just about convinced myself to get a Simpson X2L in best for the very reasons you mention.

I've a Simpsons Special in best which is a great brush for the money and I could whole heartedly recommend it to anybody but like JP the Simpsons Colonel looks very promising.:thumbup1:

You have a few options here. Rooney in Best or Super is always good, but for the money I prefer my Simpsons Duke 1, actually cheaper than the Rooney in Super. I'm also contemplating buying a Case too... But don't rule out the Wee Scot. I love mine.

I had a Rooney 3/1 in "Super" Silvertip, and can attest to their quality. I got a PenWorks custom to replace it, but if I hadn't, I'd still use it. The Rooney 1/1 is the same thing as the Truefitt and Hill style 1 in small, but using that code posted above knocks over $10 off the best price I can find on the Rooney. That'd be my suggestion.