What's new

Edwin Jagger DE89L vs Merkur 34C Long

I am brand new to this. I bought the 34C based on the rave reviews everywhere. Now I am reading all about this Edwin Jagger DE89L and I'm wondering if I made a mistake. I have only used the 34C twice. It was ok. Should I stick with it or go with the Edwin Jagger DE89L?

I would love to hear the opinions of people who have both or either. Thanks

I am brand new to this. I bought the 34C based on the rave reviews everywhere. Now I am reading all about this Edwin Jagger DE89L and I'm wondering if I made a mistake. I have only used the 34C twice. It was ok. Should I stick with it or go with the Edwin Jagger DE89L?

I would stick with the Merkur until you get comfortable with your technique. I have the EJ DE 89L and the Merkur 34 and both are great razors. However, I think that the quality is much better on the EJ razor. This is my opinion only. Both pretty much have the same aggressiveness level. The EJ is a three piece razor where as the Merkur is a two piece. I would invest a little more time with the Merkur and than buy the EJ DE89L, you know your gonna get the other one:lol:. You really cannot go wrong with either one of these razors. But it's my opinion only that the EJ is a better product in build and feel. Of course YMMV applies here. Both razor have huge fan bases. Hope this helps.

Last edited:
I was going to get the HD 34c but it was out everywhere so I went with the DE89L. From reading the reviews on this board, I can't imagine the 34c would be anything other than spectacular for a beginning razor. Even pros say they still go back to it from time to time.

I take it the DE89L is slightly less aggressive than the 34c but essentially the heads are based on the same design. I've also heard that the finish on the Edwin Jagger is a little more polished.

Personally, I think you made the right choice. I still want to try the 34c because of its reputation. But I do so love the DE89L.