What's new

Best inexpensive coffee grinder??

Ive been using the same Braun blade type grinder for about 8 years now and I think its getting ready to die the motor is making strange noises recently so I think Im ready to upgrade to burr grinder. Problem is, I dont really have $100+ to spend on a grinder right now. Are there any less expensive burr grinders that are any good? Im really just looking for a slightly more consistent grind then I get with my blade grinder with less fines so i can use my french press more often. I am the only coffee drinker in my house 95% of the time brew in my 16oz Chemex and once in a blue moon I use my tiny 12oz press so I only need to grind a few couple of tablespoons of beans at a time. Any ideas under $50-60?

Thanks

I bought a DeLonghi burr grinder from Costco for about $30. It was a while back, so they may not stock it anymore. It grinds at different settings and seems to do a decent job.

On further thought, after reading some of the other posters, I now realize that my cheap burr grinder is just that: Cheap! It is very loud, spins very fast, gives inconsistent grinds. You do get what you pay for and I can't recommend this one. I think I'll throw it away!

Last edited:
I purchased a Krups GVX2 at a Starbucks store for $60 a couple of years ago, and it was the least expensive burr grinder available at the time. I had recently switched from a drip coffeemaker to a french press, and was dissatisfied with the inconsistent results of a blade grinder. I've been very happy with this product and would buy it again.

Krups still has it on their web site:

I bought a $40ish "burr" from Bath & Beyond; it was crap. The motor spun at higher RPMs than an Indy race car and it created more fines than a flour mill. After trying to use it for a couple of weeks, I took it go GoodWill and bought a Baratza; VERY happy I did.