What's new

Streich-Riemen Loom Strop

Just got one of these from Em's Place, although this picture is from The Shaving Shop. It's listed at several on-line shops but Em's Place had the best price for an in-stock item.

proxy.php

I must say it has worked wonders on one razor I honed myself (I am just learning this). I could not seem to get that razor to shave smoothly until I used the CrOx side of this strop, followed by the plain horse-hide (?) side. The razor immediately shaved like a dream. I used only ten laps on the CrOx. I had already tried CrOx on a hanging strop and diamond pastes on both a paddle strop and a hanging strop but they didn't get the job done like this one.

Now it's possible that the razor needed *lots* of paste-stropping and I just hadn't given it enough until I added in the stropping with this guy.

EDIT: Don't know if it is really horse hide. It is claimed to be "Russian" but I don't know if that truly implies horse hide.

Last edited:
Its cow hide, but Russian refers to the tanning process. I have one just like it, some generic maker makes them and sells them for Dovo and several other company names. Mine works well, but I use it primarily for travel, but for a beginner its a real nice strop IMO. Plus, you are less likely to damage your blade like some unexperienced stroppers do starting out.

Its cow hide, but Russian refers to the tanning process. I have one just like it, some generic maker makes them and sells them for Dovo and several other company names. Mine works well, but I use it primarily for travel, but for a beginner its a real nice strop IMO. Plus, you are less likely to damage your blade like some unexperienced stroppers do starting out.

Here is one quote that makes me think it may be horse-hide, from the Amazon listing (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B001LYAPNQ...asn&creative=380341&creativeASIN=B001LYAPNQ):
Product Description