What's new

An affordable, quality 35mm SLR digital camera?

Hi, all. I'm taking a photography course and would like to get a high quality, affordable digital camera. I am looking to spend as little as possible, but I want something that is nice. I have a Nikon N80 film camera, which I like, but I'd like to move on to digital.

I am a novice photographer. I'm not looking for a lot of fancy features, at the moment. If I enjoy the course, I'll upgrade. I can't give you a budget, but, as I said, I don't want to spend a lot... I am a fan of Nikon.

Any advice would be great!

Nikon's lower-priced DSLRs get good reviews (I'm a Canon man, myself), but if you are accustomed to a better level of film camera, you might be happier with a used DSLR, perhaps one that has been replaced in the current lineup. There are at least a few reputable on-line dealers, such as B & H Photo. There may be a few things about lower-priced DSLRs that you won't like, beyond the bells and whistles, such as the size of the viewfinder or the ergonomics of the controls for aperture and shutter speed.

Don't be afraid to buy used. Then if you upgrade, you likely won't lose much if any money when you sell it. Also, if you already have lenses for your Nikon film camera, stick with Nikon so you can use them with the DSLR as well. Be advised, though, that some of the new cheaper model Nikons can only use the newer lenses (don't remember which off-hand).

+1 for used. With digital, yesterday's wiz bang camera is today's bargin. Digital cameras become obsolete quickly. D40 is a good recomendation and finding a nice used one should be no problem. Spend your money on lenses, not cameras.

I would hunt around and try to find a used Nikon D80. I still have mine and it is a great camera- the used prices have come down even further since the release of the D90. This will give you a focus motor in the camera body (not the case with the D40) and will allow you to use almost any Nikon lens.